• Start date
  • Replies 19 Comments
  • Views 3,331 Views

Housemoney

Since
Jan 30, 2010
Score
Tokens
Do the pros on here strictly adhere to the Kelly bet sizes? I went back and read a lot of Ganche's post last night and it makes me think I need to change my betting habits.

I like the over in the Canada/Russia game, but Kelly is saying it is a no play. I guess because of the increased juice vs. the win probabilty.

What #'s are you putting in the calculator for this game?

How does Kelly tell you what's a play?

-125 with a win probabilty of 55% It is spitting out a 0 Reno. I am a true novice with this trying to learn.

break even at -125 is 125/225 = 55.56%. A 55% play is a losing proposition at -125, thus the proper kelly stake is in fact 0.

-125, equates to a win probability of 55.55%, as such the calculator is correct.

My staking plan is relatively conservative (equivalent to about one third Kelly) and whilst it works on the same principles as Kelly, it levels out more marginal figures.
By way of example Kelly would advise a very aggressive bet at -3300 on a 98% outcome, whereas I would be much more cautious

Thank you Durito. As a recreational gambler, I realize that a large number of my plays in the past have been -EV. I am going to try and up my odds before next football season when I bet more heavily.

Nobody wins gambling, just try to have fun and not lose a lot

Gamelive has pros? :clueless:

No. But Gaymelive does :guitar:

The biggest lesson to be learned with Kelly is to not overbet your edge. Many people (including myself) use a fractional variation of Kelly to reduce risk. If you underbet, you don't maximize growth. However, if you overbet, you drastically increase your chance of ruin.

i like to bet 50-100% of my roll on each play

-125, equates to a win probability of 55.55%, as such the calculator is correct.