• Replies 32 Comments
  • Views 2,161 Views

UntilTheNDofTimE

At the tables
Since
Jan 30, 2010
Score
Tokens
Is this unlawful termination and harrasment?

I work for a very big corporation. I work in a warehouse and it is my job to build pallets with merchandise and load them on trucks. I am a union employee and my union is very weak and usually lets the comany got away with what they want.

6 weeks ago my company began to discipline and write up employees for not reaching a productivity number that is completely unrealistic. If you dont hit the number on a weekly bases you will be fired after 6 write ups. Nowhere in our union contract does it say anything about productivity standards but our union hasnt done anything about it. They continued to harrass and discipline me over my productivity even though i worked as hard as i could everyday.

On tuesday morning i was terminated for this reason. To terminate someone you need to get human resource approval and hand the employee their final check. They didnt do either. 5 hours after i was terminated i got a call from my managers manager saying there revising my termination to a suspension pending( suspension pending is where they suspend you and do a review on whether theyll let you come back to work or fire you. . Of course there revising this without my signature. They did this cause they screwed up and didnt "rightfully" fire me. Now they want me to go back to work on monday. I talk to my union officials and they tell me not to go back to work cause they want you to go back just so they can righfully fire you to avoid a lawsuit.

What do you guys think. Ive tried to get a consultation with many lawyers but all of them want you to fill out a form and theyll get back to you. I need a lawyer now.

The whole point of the Union is to give you legal representation. I wouldn't look outside of your union if you want to get anything out of this.